Blue Diamond Marketing

National & World Ag News Headlines
FEMA Expands Missouri Disaster Declaration
USAgNet - 07/17/2017

Following FEMA's approval of Gov. Greitens' request to expand the spring flooding disaster declaration, FEMA and SEMA are working quickly to identify locations to establish Disaster Recovery Centers. DRCs offer in-person FEMA and U.S. Small Business Administration assistance to disaster survivors.

Friday morning, Gov. Eric Greitens announced more Missouri homeowners, renters and businesses, and local government agencies can receive vital federal disaster assistance after the Federal Emergency Management Agency approved his request to expand the federal disaster declaration for spring flooding and severe storms in Missouri.

"This expansion of the federal disaster declaration means more Missouri families and communities will receive critical assistance as they recover from historic flooding that left some with unprecedented clean up and recovery expenses," Gov. Greitens said. "I urge Missourians to act quickly and apply to FEMA so they can take advantage of this opportunity to advance Missouri's recovery across the state."

Assistance to Individuals and Families:

- FEMA has approved the Governor's request to expand assistance to eligible homeowners, renters and businesses in Christian, Crawford, Dent, Greene, Iron, Ste. Genevieve, Wayne and Wright counties.

- Homeowners and renters who sustained damage or losses due to the flooding and severe storms can register for disaster assistance by calling the FEMA toll-free at 800-621-3362, from 6 a.m. to 10 p.m. seven days a week, or by going online to

- Homeowners, renters and businesses are urged to apply quickly as the FEMA deadline to apply for assistance is Aug. 1.

The State Emergency Management Agency is working with FEMA to identify locations in which FEMA will operate Disaster Recovery Centers to assist flooding survivors.

Assistance to Local Government Agencies, Nonprofits for Infrastructure Repairs and Response Costs:

- Following FEMA's approval of Gov. Greitens' request, local governments and nonprofit agencies in Boone, Cape Girardeau, Mississippi, New Madrid, Pemiscot, Ste. Genevieve and Scott counties can now request federal assistance for repair and replacement expenses for roads, bridges and infrastructure, and emergency response costs.

- The deadline for government agencies and nonprofits in these seven counties to file Requests for Public Assistance for applicants in seven newly designated counties is Aug. 12.

In all, more than $71 million in payments -- including FEMA grants, National Flood Insurance Program payments to policyholders and U.S. Small Business Administration low-interest loans -- has now flowed into Missouri, helping fuel the recovery of Missouri families.

FEMA has made more than $10.6 million in grant payments for emergency home repairs, rental assistance, the replacement of essential personal property and other eligible expenses to more than 1,600 disaster survivors.

The U.S. Small Business Administration has approved over $10.1 million in low-interest disaster loans to more than 170 homeowners, renters and businesses.

NFIP has made payments totaling nearly $51 million to 1,002 Missouri policyholders. NFIP continues to process more than 300 additional claims.

Send this article to a friend

Other National Headlines

Easy Way Cattle Care
Sheah Auguers/SD Ellenbecker
Copyright 2018 - All Rights Reserved.